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Introduction 

Introduction 
 
This document outlines Oregon laws, federal laws, and state and federal court orders 
related to tobacco control in Oregon. Federal laws and court orders are included 
when they are more stringent than state law.  
 
Format and Content: 
In subsections I through VI, the laws and court orders have been divided into six 
groups based on their content:  

I. Access to Tobacco and Youth Possession of Tobacco 
II. Cessation  
III. Smokefree Environments Laws 
IV. Tobacco Taxes, Payments and Distribution 
V. Tobacco and Cigarette-Related Product Regulation 
VI.  Miscellaneous  

 
Laws and orders in these subsections include a brief summary and, where practical, 
full legal citations. In addition, we have provided cursory information about 
enforcement. For many of the Oregon laws in these subsections, there is no specific 
enforcement authority identified in law, which typically means the enforcement of 
that law becomes a matter for local law enforcement. Individuals or organizations 
who want to pursue enforcement of these laws should work directly with local 
authorities. 
 
Subsections VII and VIII are (respectively) a brief description of state law, federal 
law, and sentinel federal level court orders and a comparative compilation of those 
laws and cases. 
 
 
Definitions: 
ORS: Oregon Revised Statutes; contains statutes and the Oregon Rules of Civil 
Procedure. 

OAR: Oregon Administrative Rules; ORS 183.310(9) defines “rule” as “any agency 

directive, standard, regulation or statement of general applicability that implements, 

interprets or prescribes law or policy, or describes the procedure or practice 

requirements of any agency.”  The Oregon Administrative Rules are published by the 

Oregon Secretary of State. 
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Introduction 

This table outlines the dollar amounts of penalties for infractions against different 

levels/types of Oregon Law.   

Citation 

ORS 153.018, 161.615, 161.635 

VIOLATION TYPE/CLASS PENALTY 

Class A Misdemeanor Max. fine: $6,250 

Max. prison term: 1 year 

Class B Misdemeanor Max. fine: $2,500 

Max. prison term: 6 months 

Class C Misdemeanor Max. fine: $1,250 

Max. prison term: 30 days 

Unclassified Misdemeanor As provided in the statute defining the 

crime 

Class A Violation $720 

Class B Violation $360 

Class C Violation $180 

Class D Violation $90 

Unclassified or Specific-Fine Violations As described in ORS 153.015 
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I. Access to Tobacco and                                              
Youth Possession of Tobacco 

I. Access to Tobacco and Youth Possession of Tobacc o 
 
Location of Vending Machines 
State 
Oregon law prohibits vending machines that supply tobacco products from being 
located in any place except an Oregon Liquor Control Commission-licensed 
establishment that is posted as off limits to minors with a Number I Minor Posting, 
which states “No Minors Permitted Anywhere on This Premises.” Such 
establishments include certain bars, taverns, and cocktail lounges. Selling tobacco 
from vending machines in any other location is a Class B violation. Local jurisdictions 
are preempted from passing stronger laws. 
 
Enforcement  
Local law enforcement authorities 
 
Citation 
ORS 167.402 Locating tobacco vending machines.  
 (1) As used in this section, “vending machine” means a mechanical, electronic or 
similar device that, upon the insertion of tokens, money or another form of payment, 
dispenses tobacco products. 
 (2) A person may not sell or dispense tobacco products, as defined in ORS 
431.840, from a vending machine, except in an establishment where the premises are 
posted as permanently and entirely off-limits to minors under rules adopted by the 
Oregon Liquor Control Commission. 
 (3) Violation of subsection (2) of this section is a Class B violation. Each day of 
violation constitutes a separate offense. [1991 c.970 §2; 1999 c.1051 §162; 2009 c.600 
§1] 
    
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors167.html 
 
 

Restriction on Free Distribution of Tobacco Product s  
Federal 
The federal Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act (2009) prohibits all 
tobacco sampling except the distribution of free samples of smokeless tobacco in 
qualified adult-only facilities. 
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I. Access to Tobacco and                                              
Youth Possession of Tobacco 

 
Enforcement 

U.S. Food and Drug Administration 
Consumers can call FDA at 1-877-CTP-1373, option 4, to report a violation. 
Complaints are forwarded to FDA’s Office of Compliance, which will follow up with 
complainants by phone in one to three business days. 
 
State 
Oregon law prohibits the distribution of free tobacco products to people under 18 
years old. Free samples of smokeless tobacco may not be given to anyone under the age 
of  21 or distributed in any area in which people under the age of 21 are allowed; a 
violation of this law is a Class A misdemeanor. 
 
Enforcement 
Local law enforcement authorities 
 
Citation 
ORS 431.840 (1) (a) Free distribution to minors prohibited; restriction on sales; 
notice.  
 (1) It shall be unlawful to do any of the following: 

 (a) To distribute free tobacco products to persons under 18 years of age as part 
of a marketing strategy to encourage the use of tobacco products.  

[1989 c.764 §1; 2001 c.187 §1] 
 
ORS 431.845 Civil penalty for violation of ORS 431.840.  

(1) The civil penalty for violation of any provision of ORS 431.840 shall not be 
less than $100 nor exceed $500. 

(2) The amounts collected under subsection (1) of this section shall be deposited 
to the credit of the General Fund. [1989 c.764 §2; 1991 c.970 §6] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors431.html 
 
 
ORS 180.486 Prohibited conduct; penalty.  

(1) A person may not: 
(d) Distribute, in this state, free samples of smokeless tobacco products: 

(A) To persons under 21 years of age; or 
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I. Access to Tobacco and                                              
Youth Possession of Tobacco 

(B) In any area, unless access by persons under 21 years of age to that area is 
prohibited. 

(2) A person who sells, offers for sale, distributes, acquires, holds, owns, possesses, 
transports, imports or causes to be imported smokeless tobacco products that the 
person knows or should know are intended for sale or distribution in violation of 
subsection (1) of this section commits a Class A misdemeanor. [2009 c.717 §13] 
 
ORS 180.468 Definitions.  
As used in ORS 180.465 to 180.494: 
(6) “Smokeless tobacco products” has the meaning given that term in ORS 323.810. 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors180.html 
 
 
ORS 323.810 Definitions for ORS 323.810 to 323.816.  
As used in ORS 323.810 to 323.816: 
(7) “Smokeless tobacco products” means moist snuff, as defined in ORS 323.500, or 
chewing tobacco, as defined in section 5702 of the Internal Revenue Code. 
 
ORS 323.500 Definitions for ORS 323.500 to 323.645.  
As used in ORS 323.500 to 323.645, unless the context otherwise requires: 
(9) “Moist snuff” means: 

(a) Any finely cut, ground or powdered tobacco that is not intended to be smoked 
or placed in a nasal cavity; or 

(b) Any other product containing tobacco that is intended or expected to be 
consumed without being combusted. 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors323.html 
 
 
26 U.S.C. § 5702. Definitions 
(m) Definitions relating to smokeless tobacco 

(3) Chewing tobacco  
The term “chewing tobacco” means any leaf tobacco that is not intended to be 
smoked.  

 
www.law.cornell.edu/uscode/html/uscode26/usc_sec_26_00005702----000-.html 
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I. Access to Tobacco and                                              
Youth Possession of Tobacco 

 
 
Purchase or Possession of Tobacco by Minors 
State 
Oregon law prohibits a person under the age of 18 from buying or obtaining tobacco 
products. It is also illegal for a minor to possess tobacco products, except inside a 
private residence with the consent of the minor’s parent or guardian. Any person who 
violates this law may be required to participate in a tobacco education program, a 
tobacco use cessation program, or community service that is associated with tobacco-
related diseases. Minors acting under the supervision of an adult may engage in 
“controlled buys” – attempts to purchase tobacco for the purpose of testing retailers’ 
compliance with Oregon’s laws concerning retail sales of tobacco. 
 
Enforcement 
Local law enforcement authorities 
 
Citation 
ORS 167.400 Tobacco possession by minors prohibited.  
 (1) It is unlawful for any person under 18 years of age to possess tobacco 
products, as defined in ORS 431.840. 
 (2) Any person who violates subsection (1) of this section commits a Class D  
violation. [1991 c.970 §1; 1999 c.1051 §161] 
 
ORS 167.401 Tobacco purchase by minors prohibited; exceptions.  
 (1) Except as provided in subsection (4) of this section, no person under 18 years 
of age shall purchase, attempt to purchase or acquire tobacco products as defined in 
ORS 431.840. Except when such minor is in a private residence accompanied by the 
parent or guardian of the minor and with the consent of such parent or guardian, no 
person under 18 years of age shall have personal possession of tobacco products. 
 (2) Any person who violates subsection (1) of this section commits a violation. 
 (3) 

 (a) In lieu of any other penalty established by law, a person who is convicted 
for the first time of a violation of subsection (1) of this section may be ordered to 
participate in a tobacco education program or a tobacco use cessation program or 
to perform community service related to diseases associated with consumption of 
tobacco products. A person may be ordered to participate in such a program only 
once. 
 (b) In addition to and not in lieu of any other penalty established by law, a 
person who is convicted of a second violation of subsection (1) of this section 
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I. Access to Tobacco and                                              
Youth Possession of Tobacco 

through misrepresentation of age may be required to participate in a tobacco 
education or a tobacco use cessation program or to perform community service 
related to diseases associated with the consumption of tobacco products, and the 
court shall order that the person’s driving privileges and right to apply for driving 
privileges be suspended for a period not to exceed one year. If a court has issued 
an order denying driving privileges under this subsection, the court, upon petition 
of the person, may withdraw the order at any time the court deems appropriate. 
The court notification to the Department of Transportation under this subsection 
may include a recommendation that the person be granted a hardship permit 
under ORS 807.240 if the person is otherwise eligible for the permit. 

 (4) A minor acting under the supervision of an adult may purchase, attempt to 
purchase or acquire tobacco products for the purpose of testing compliance with a 
federal law, state statute, local law or retailer management policy limiting or regulating 
the delivery of tobacco products to minors. [1999 c.1077 §8] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors167.html 
 
 
Retailer Notice  about Sales to Minors 
State 
Oregon law requires retailers to post a notice informing the public that selling tobacco 
products to individuals under 18 is prohibited. Failure to do so will result in a fine 
ranging from $100 to $500. 
 
Enforcement 
Local law enforcement authorities 
 
Citation 
ORS 431.840 (1) (b) Free distribution to minors prohibited; restriction on sales; 
notice.  
 (1) It shall be unlawful to do any of the following: 

 (b) To fail as a retailer to post a notice substantially similar to that set forth in 
subsection (3) of this section in a location clearly visible to the seller and the 
purchaser that sale of tobacco products to persons under 18 years of age is 
prohibited.  
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Youth Possession of Tobacco 

 
 (3) The notice shall be substantially as follows: 
__________________________________________________________________ 

NOTICE 
 
 The sale of tobacco in any form to persons under 18 years of age is prohibited by 
law. Any person who knowingly sells, or causes to be sold, tobacco to a person under 
18 years of age commits the crime of endangering the welfare of a minor, pursuant to 
ORS 163.575. 
__________________________________________________________________ 
 
[1989 c.764 §1; 2001 c.187 §1] 
 
ORS 431.845 Civil penalty for violation of ORS 431.840.  
 (1) The civil penalty for violation of any provision of ORS 431.840 shall not be 
less than $100 nor exceed $500. 
 (2) The amounts collected under subsection (1) of this section shall be deposited 
to the credit of the General Fund. [1989 c.764 §2; 1991 c.970 §6] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors431.html 
 

 
Sale of Tobacco to Minors 
State 
Oregon law prohibits selling or distributing tobacco or devices used to burn tobacco 
to individuals under the age of 18. The minimum fine for each violation is $100. 
 
Enforcement 
Local law enforcement authorities  
 
Citation 
ORS 163.575 Endangering the welfare of a minor.  
 (1) A person commits the crime of endangering the welfare of a minor if the 
person knowingly: 

 (d) Distributes, sells, or causes to be sold, tobacco in any form to a person 
under 18 years of age; or 
 (e) Sells to a person under 18 years of age any device in which tobacco, 
marijuana, cocaine or any controlled substance, as defined in ORS 475.005, is 
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burned and the principal design and use of which is directly or indirectly to deliver 
tobacco smoke, marijuana smoke, cocaine smoke or smoke from any controlled 
substance into the human body including but not limited to: 

 (A) Pipes, water pipes, hookahs, wooden pipes, carburetor pipes, electric 
pipes, air driven pipes, corncob pipes, meerschaum pipes and ceramic pipes, 
with or without screens, permanent screens, hashish heads or punctured metal 
bowls; 

   (B) Carburetion tubes and devices, including carburetion masks; 
   (C) Bongs; 
   (D) Chillums; 
   (E) Ice pipes or chillers; 
   (F) Cigarette rolling papers and rolling machines; and 
   (G) Cocaine free basing kits. 
 (2) Endangering the welfare of a minor by violation of subsection (1)(a), (b), (c) or 
(e) of this section, involving other than a device for smoking tobacco, is a Class A 
misdemeanor. 
 (3) Endangering the welfare of a minor by violation of subsection (1)(d) of this 
section or by violation of subsection (1)(e) of this section, involving a device for 
smoking tobacco, is a Class A violation and the court shall impose a fine of not less 
than $100. [1971 c.743 §177; 1973 c.827 §20; 1979 c.744 §8; 1981 c.838 §1; 1983 c.740 
§31; 1991 c.970 §5; 1995 c.79 §52; 1999 c.1051 §153] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors163.html 
 
 
Locating Tobacco Products in Retail Stores 
State 
Under Oregon law, retail store owners may not place tobacco products in a location 
where customers can access the product without the assistance of an employee, unless 
the store is off limits to individuals under 18 years of age. It is a Class B violation to 
break this law. 
 
Enforcement 
Local law enforcement authorities 
 
Citation 
ORS 167.407 Locating tobacco products where customers can access without store 
employee prohibited. 
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 (1) A person having authority over the location of cigarettes and other tobacco 
products in a retail store may not locate cigarettes or other tobacco products in a 
location in the store where the cigarettes or other tobacco products are accessible by 
store customers without assistance by a store employee. 
 (2) Violation of subsection (1) of this section is a Class B violation. Each day of 
violation constitutes a separate offense. 
 (3) Subsections (1) and (2) of this section do not apply if the location at which the 
cigarettes or tobacco products are sold is a store or other establishment at which 
persons under 18 years of age are prohibited. [2003 c.804 §84] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors167.html 
 

 
Tobacco Seller Licensing 
State 
In Oregon, tobacco distributors must obtain licenses in order to distribute tobacco 
products. Typically, distributors sell tobacco to retailers, who then sell to the public. 
Retailers, such as individual stores, are not required to have licenses to sell tobacco 
products. 
 
Enforcement  
Oregon Department of Revenue 
 
Citation 
OAR 150-323.105.  When Distributor's License Required 
 (1) A distributor's license is required for each place of business at which a person 
engages in the distribution of cigarettes as defined in ORS 323.015(2). A distributor's 
license is required for any person distributing cigarettes in Oregon, including: 

 (a) every cigarette manufacturer selling cigarettes in this state to persons other 
than licensed distributors; 

  (b) Every person who imports cigarettes into this state for sale; 
 (c) Every person who obtains untaxed cigarettes from a cigarette manufacturer 
for resale; and 
 (d) Common carriers engaged in interstate or foreign passenger service, who 
sell cigarettes on their facilities in Oregon, and persons authorized to sell cigarettes 
on the facilities of such common carriers. For the purpose of this rule "facilities of 
a common carrier" are limited to the mobile equipment of the carrier used for the 
transportation of passengers. 
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http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_100/oar_150/150_323.html 
 
 
Sales of Tobacco through Mail Order or Internet Sal es 
Federal 
Pursuant to the PACT Act of 2009, federal law prohibits the sale of untaxed tobacco 
products through the Internet or by mail order and makes tobacco products 
nonmailable matter (subject to minor exceptions). Internet- and mail-order sellers may 
not deliver their merchandise through the U.S. Postal Service, but may continue to use 
private common carriers and other delivery services. They must also verify the age of 
customers both at the time of purchase and at the point of delivery. 
 
Enforcement 
The U.S. Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives for the most part, 
with the U.S. Postal Service in charge of the nonmailable matter section of PACT. 
 
State 
Oregon law forbids the delivery sale of tobacco products to underage individuals. 
Delivery sellers must obtain signed written certifications that their customers meet the 
minimum age, as well as a copy of each customer’s valid, government-issued 
identification showing age or date of birth, prior to shipping any tobacco products. 
Sellers may only accept payment issued in the name of the prospective purchaser (i.e., 
a debit/credit card or personal check issued in that individual’s name) for each sale, 
and must use a shipping method that requires a signature and photo identification 
from the customer or another non-minor individual residing at the same address. All 
delivery sellers must obtain a distributor’s license prior to making delivery sales.  
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Department of Justice 
 
Citation 
ORS 323.703 Delivery sales to persons under legal minimum purchase age prohibited. 
A person may not make a delivery sale of tobacco to a person who is under the legal 
minimum purchase age. [2003 c.804 §74] 
  
ORS 323.706 Requirements for persons accepting delivery sale purchase orders.  
A person accepting a purchase order for a delivery sale, prior to the first mailing, 
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shipment or other delivery of tobacco to a consumer, shall comply with: 
 (1) The age verification requirements set forth in ORS 323.709; 
 (2) The distributor license requirements set forth in ORS 323.712; 
 (3) The disclosure requirements set forth in ORS 323.715; 
 (4) The mailing or shipping requirements set forth in ORS 323.718; 
 (5) The reporting requirements set forth in ORS 323.721; and 
 (6) All other laws of this state applicable to sales of tobacco that occur entirely 
within Oregon, including but not limited to ORS 323.005 to 323.482, 323.500 to 
323.645, 323.806 and 323.816. [2003 c.804 §75; 2009 c.717 §23] 
  
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors323.html 
 
 
Out-of-State and Internet Sales of Tobacco 
State 
Out-of-state and internet sellers of tobacco products to Oregon consumers are 
subject to the same regulation as sellers located in Oregon. Internet sellers are also 
subject to federal and state laws governing delivery sales. 
 
See ORS 180.440 at 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors180.html for 
prohibited conduct. 
 
Prohibition on Sale of Unpackaged Cigarettes 
State 
In Oregon, it is illegal to sell cigarettes that are not in a sealed package. A violation of 
this law will result in a civil penalty of $100 to $500. 
 
Enforcement  
Local law enforcement authorities 
 
Citation 
ORS 431.840 Free distribution to minors prohibited; restriction on sales; notice.  
 (1) It shall be unlawful to do any of the following: 
  (c) To sell cigarettes in any form other than a sealed package. 
 
ORS 431.845 Civil penalty for violation of ORS 431.840.  
 (1) The civil penalty for violation of any provision of ORS 431.840 shall not be 
less than $100 nor exceed $500. 
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 (2) The amounts collected under subsection (1) of this section shall be deposited 
to the credit of the General Fund. [1989 c.764 §2; 1991 c.970 §6] 
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II. Cessation 
 
Cessation Service Coverage for Native Americans 
State 
The Oregon Division of Medical Assistance Programs (DMAP) reimburses American 
Indian/Alaska Native (AI/AN) providers at their Indian Health Service (IHS) or cost-
based rate for tobacco-cessation services. Providers may not report Tobacco 
Cessation, a specific DMAP prevention program, as a separate encounter if medical, 
dental, mental health or addiction services were also provided during the 
appointment.  
 
Enforcement  
Department of Human Services, Division of Medical Assistance Programs 
 
Citation 
OAR 410-146-0140 Tobacco Cessation  
 (1) The Division of Medical Assistance Programs (DMAP) will reimburse 
AI/AN providers for tobacco cessation services at the AI/AN provider's IHS or 
cost-based rate.  
 (2) AI/AN providers will bill services with procedure codes G9016 for tobacco  
cessation counseling and S9075 for tobacco cessation treatment, with diagnosis code 
305.1 (Tobacco Use Disorder). Refer to Table 146-0085-1.  
 (3) Refer to OAR 410-130-0190, Tobacco Cessation for specific requirements 
and treatment limitations.  
 (4) Providers may not report Tobacco Cessation, a specific DMAP prevention 
program, as a separate encounter when a medical, dental, mental health or addiction 
service encounter occurs on the same date of service.  
 
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_400/oar_410/410_146.html 
 
 
Insurance Coverage for Cessation Programs 
State 
Oregon law requires that “health benefit plans” purchased after January 1, 2010, 
provide at least $500 in payment, coverage or reimbursement for tobacco-use-
cessation programs. This applies only to plan enrollees who are 15 years of age or 
older. As defined in the law, “health benefit plans” do not include Medicaid, 
Medicare, disability income, short-term health insurance, insurance for students, or 
other non-traditional health insurance plans. Nevertheless, some of these programs, 
such as Medicaid, do provide cessation coverage. 
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Enforcement 
Oregon Insurance Board 
  
Citation 
ORS 743A.170 Tobacco use cessation programs.  

(1) A health benefit plan as defined in ORS 743.730 must provide payment, 
coverage or reimbursement of at least $500 for a tobacco use cessation program for a 
person enrolled in the plan who is 15 years of age or older. 

(2) As used in this section, “tobacco use cessation program” means a program 
recommended by a physician that follows the United States Public Health Service 
guidelines for tobacco use cessation. “Tobacco use cessation program” includes 
education and medical treatment components designed to assist a person in ceasing 
the use of tobacco products. [2009 c.503 §2] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors743A.html 
 
 
ORS 743.730 Definitions for ORS 743.730 to 743.773. For purposes of ORS 743.730 
to 743.773: 

(19) 
(a) “Health benefit plan” means any hospital expense, medical expense or 

hospital or medical expense policy or certificate, health care service contractor or 
health maintenance organization subscriber contract, any plan provided by a 
multiple employer welfare arrangement or by another benefit arrangement defined 
in the federal Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as amended. 

(b) “Health benefit plan” does not include coverage for accident only, specific 
disease or condition only, credit, disability income, coverage of Medicare services 
pursuant to contracts with the federal government, Medicare supplement 
insurance policies, coverage of CHAMPUS services pursuant to contracts with the 
federal government, benefits delivered through a flexible spending arrangement 
established pursuant to section 125 of the Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as 
amended, when the benefits are provided in addition to a group health benefit 
plan, long term care insurance, hospital indemnity only, short term health 
insurance policies (the duration of which does not exceed six months including 
renewals), student accident and health insurance policies, dental only, vision only, a 
policy of stop-loss coverage that meets the requirements of ORS 742.065, 
coverage issued as a supplement to liability insurance, insurance arising out of a 
workers’ compensation or similar law, automobile medical payment insurance or 
insurance under which benefits are payable with or without regard to fault and that 
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is statutorily required to be contained in any liability insurance policy or equivalent 
self-insurance. 

(c) Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to regulate any employee 
welfare benefit plan that is exempt from state regulation because of the federal 
Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974, as amended. [1991 c.916 §3; 
1993 c.18 §157; 1993 c.615 §25; 1993 c.649 §8; 1993 c.744 §31; 1995 c.603 §§1,36; 
1997 c.716 §§1,2; 1999 c.547 §8; 1999 c.987 §6; 2001 c.943 §6; 2003 c.364 §112; 
2005 c.744 §38; 2007 c.389 §1; 2009 c.595 §1135] 

 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors743.html 
 
 
Oregon Health Plan and Cessation Coverage 
State 
The Oregon Health Plan covers basic, intensive, and telephonic tobacco-cessation 
treatment. Basic treatment includes a brief conversation (six minutes) to discuss the 
patient’s concerns and provide support to help the patient stop smoking. Intensive 
tobacco cessation treatment includes up to ten treatment sessions every three-month 
period, access to tobacco cessation products (such as nicotine patches and oral 
medications), and group counseling. Telephone calls by a trained counselor may be 
conducted in place of in-person encounters. The Tobacco Use Disorder code is the 
principal diagnosis code when a patient participates in a tobacco cessation program.    
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Department of Human Services 
 
Citation                            
OAR 410-130-0190 Tobacco Cessation 
 (1) Tobacco treatment interventions may include one or more of these services: 
basic, intensive, and telephone calls.  
 (2) Basic tobacco cessation treatment includes the following services:  
  (a) Ask -- systematically identify all tobacco users -- usually done at each 
visit;  
  (b) Advise -- strongly urge all tobacco users to quit using; 

(c) Assess -- the tobacco user’s willingness to attempt to quit using tobacco 
within 30 days;  

(d) Assist -- with brief behavioral counseling, treatment materials and the 
recommendation/prescription of tobacco cessation therapy products (e.g., nicotine 
patches, oral medications intended for tobacco cessation treatment and gum);  

(e) Arrange -- follow-up support and/or referral to more intensive treatments, 
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if needed. 
 (3) When providing basic treatment, include a brief discussion to address client 
concerns and provide the support, encouragement, and counseling needed to assist 
with tobacco cessation efforts. These brief interventions, less than 6 minutes, 
generally are provided during a visit for other conditions, and additional billing is not 
appropriate.  

(4) Intensive tobacco cessation treatment is on the Health Services Commission's 
Prioritized List of Health Services and is covered if a documented quit date has been 
established. This treatment is limited to ten sessions every three months. Treatment is 
reserved for those clients who are not able to quit using tobacco with the basic 
intervention measures.  
 (5) Intensive tobacco cessation treatment includes the following services:  
  (a) Multiple treatment encounters (up to ten in a 3 month period);  

(b) Behavioral and tobacco cessation therapy products (e.g., nicotine patches, 
oral medications intended for tobacco cessation treatment and gum);  

  (c) Individual or group counseling, six minutes or greater.  
 (6) Telephone calls: DMAP may reimburse a telephone call intended as a 
replacement for face-to-face contact with clients who are in intensive treatment as it is 
considered a reasonable adjunct to, or replacement for, scheduled counseling sessions:  

(a) The call must last six to ten minutes and provides support and follow-up 
counseling;  

(b) The call must be conducted by the provider or other trained staff under the 
direction or supervision of the provider;  

(c) Enter proper documentation of the service in the client's chart.  
(7) Diagnosis Code ICD-9-CM 305.1 (Tobacco Use Disorder):  

(a) Use as the principal diagnosis code when the client is enrolled in a tobacco 
cessation program or if the primary purpose of the visit is for tobacco cessation 
services;  

(b) Use as a secondary diagnosis code when the primary purpose of this visit is 
not for tobacco cessation or when the tobacco use is confirmed during the visit.  
(8) Billing Information: Managed care plans may have tobacco cessation services 

and programs. This rule does not limit or prescribe services a Prepaid Health Plan 
provides to clients receiving the Basic Health Care Package.  
 
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_400/oar_410/410_130.html 
 
 
State Funding for Cessation Programs 
State 
Oregon law states that a portion of Oregon’s Master Settlement Agreement funds 



 

24 
 

II. Cessation 

may be used to pay for tobacco cessation programs, but MSA funds have never been 
allocated for this purpose.   
 
Citation 
ORS 431.831 Smoking cessation program reimbursement; rules.  
 (1) The Department of Human Services shall develop a program to reimburse 
smoking cessation program providers for services provided to residents of this state 
who are not insured for smoking cessation costs. 
 (2) The department shall adopt rules for the program established under subsection 
(1) of this section that include but are not limited to criteria for provider and 
participant eligibility and other program specifications. The rules shall establish a 
maximum reimbursement limit for each participant. 
 (3) Costs for smoking cessation programs funded under subsection (1) of this 
section are eligible for reimbursement from funds received by the State of Oregon 
from tobacco products manufacturers under the Master Settlement Agreement of 
1998. [1999 c.1025 §1; 2009 c.595 §591] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors431.html



 

25 
 

III. Smokefree Environments Laws 

III. Smokefree Environments Laws 
 
Oregon’s Smokefree Workplace Law 
State 
The Oregon Indoor Clean Air Act (ICAA) prohibits smoking in most public places 
and places of employment. Additionally, smoking is not permitted within ten feet of 
any entrance, exit, window, or air-intake vent. Exceptions to these restrictions include 
smoking in certified smoke shops, certified cigar bars, and up to 25 percent of 
motel/hotel rooms; and smoking of non-commercial tobacco for American Indian 
ceremonial purposes. All public places and workplaces affected by the law must post 
appropriate signage. 
 
During the 2011 legislative session HB 2726 was passed, which amended the Indoor 
Clean Air Act (ICAA) and changed the requirements for certification of smoke shops. 
 Under the new law, different certification criteria applies depending on when an 
application for smoke shop certification is received by the Oregon Health Authority 
(OHA). A business that applied for smoke shop certification before the effective date 
of HB 2726, or June 30, 2011, must continue to meet the requirements of ORS 
433.835(5), as in effect immediately before June 30, 2011.  New smoke shops (those 
applying after 12/31/12) will be limited to a maximum seating capacity of four 
persons, may not sell or offer food or beverages for on-premises consumption, and 
may allow smoking only for the purpose of sampling for making retail purchase 
decisions.  
 
OHA is responsible for enforcement. The ICAA is a complaint-driven law; OHA may 
respond to complaints, inspect public places, and issue citations and penalties for 
violating the law. Multiple offenses may result in circuit court involvement. All penalty 
payments are credited to the Tobacco Use Reduction Account (TURA).  
 
Enforcement  
Oregon Health Authority and county health departments (delegated) 
                 
Citation 
OREGON INDOOR CLEAN AIR ACT 
ORS 433.835 Definitions for ORS 433.835 to 433.875.  
As used in ORS 433.835 to 433.875: 
 (1) “Cigar bar” means a business that: 
  (a) Has on-site sales of cigars as defined in ORS 323.500; 
  (b) Has a humidor on the premises; 

 (c) Allows the smoking of cigars on the premises but prohibits the smoking of 
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all other tobacco products in any form including, but not limited to, loose tobacco, 
pipe tobacco, cigarettes as defined in ORS 323.010 and cigarillos as defined by the 
Department of Human Services by rule; 
 (d) Has been issued and operates under a full on-premises sales license issued 
under ORS 471.175; 
 (e) Prohibits persons under 21 years of age from entering the premises and 
posts notice of the prohibition; 

  (f) Does not offer video lottery games as authorized under ORS 461.217; 
  (g) Has a maximum seating capacity of 40 persons; 

 (h) Has a ventilation system that is certified by the assistant to the State Fire 
Marshal described in ORS 476.060 for the jurisdiction in which the cigar bar is 
located as adequate to remove the cigar smoke in the cigar bar and vents the 
smoke from the cigar bar in a manner that prevents the smoke from entering any 
other establishment; and 
 (i) Requires all employees to read and sign a document that explains the 
dangers of exposure to secondhand smoke. 

 (2) “Enclosed area” means all space between a floor and a ceiling that is enclosed 
on three or more sides by permanent or temporary walls or windows, exclusive of 
doors or passageways, that extend from the floor to the ceiling. 
 (3) “Place of employment” means every enclosed area under the control of a 
public or private employer that employees frequent during the course of employment, 
including but not limited to work areas, employee lounges, vehicles that are operated 
in the course of an employer’s business that are not operated exclusively by one 
employee, rest rooms, conference rooms, classrooms, cafeterias, hallways, meeting 
rooms, elevators and stairways. “Place of employment” does not include a private 
residence unless it is used as a child care facility as defined in ORS 657A.250 or a 
facility providing adult day care as defined in ORS 410.490. 
 (4) “Public place” means any enclosed area open to the public. 
 (5) “Smoke shop” means a business that is certified with the authority as a smoke 
shop pursuant to the rules adopted under ORS 433.847. 
 (6) “Smoking instrument” means any cigar, cigarette, pipe or other smoking 
equipment. [1981 c.384 §2; 2001 c.990 §1; 2007 c.602 §1; 2009 c.595 §684] 
 
ORS 433.840 Policy.  
The people of Oregon find that because exposure to secondhand smoke is known to 
cause cancer and other chronic diseases such as heart disease, asthma and bronchitis, 
it is necessary to reduce exposure to tobacco smoke by prohibiting smoking in all 
public places and places of employment. [1981 c.384 §1; 2007 c.602 §2] 
 
ORS 433.845 Smoking prohibited except in designated areas.  
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 (1) A person may not smoke or carry any lighted smoking instrument in a public 
place or place of employment except in areas designated as smoking areas pursuant to 
ORS 433.850. 
 (2) A person may not smoke or carry any lighted smoking instrument within 10 
feet of the following parts of public places or places of employment: 
  (a) Entrances; 
  (b) Exits; 
  (c) Windows that open; and 
  (d) Ventilation intakes that serve an enclosed area. 
 (3) A person may not smoke or carry any lighted smoking instrument in a room 
during the time that jurors are required to use the room. [1981 c.384 §3; 1985 c.752 
§1; 2007 c.602 §3] 
 
ORS 433.847 Smoke shop certification; rules.  
 (1) The Oregon Health Authority shall adopt rules establishing a certification 
system for smoke shops. 
 (2) The authority shall issue a smoke shop certification to a business that: 

 (a)(A) Is primarily engaged in the sale of tobacco products and smoking 
instruments intended for off-premises consumption or use, with at least 75 percent 
of the gross revenues of the business resulting from such sales; 

       (B) Prohibits persons under 18 years of age from entering the premises; 
      (C) Does not offer video lottery games as authorized under 
ORS 461.217 (Video lottery game regulation), social gaming or betting on the 
premises; 
      (D) Does not sell, offer or allow on-premises consumption of food or 
beverages, including alcoholic beverages; 
      (E) Is a stand-alone business with no other businesses or residential 
property attached to the premises; 

      (F) Has a maximum seating capacity of four persons; and 
     (G) Allows smoking only for the purpose of sampling tobacco products for 
making retail purchase decisions; 

  (b) On December 31, 2008: 
      (A) Met the requirements of paragraph (a)(A) to (D) of this subsection; and 

     (B)(i) Was a stand-alone business with no other businesses or residential 
property attached; or 
         (ii)Had a ventilation system that exhausted smoke from the business and 
was designed and terminated in accordance with the state building code standards 
for the occupancy classification in use; or 
 (c) (A) Filed an application for certification as a smoke shop before June 30, 
2011; 
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     (B) Met the requirements of ORS 433.835 (Definitions for ORS 433.835 to 
433.875) (5), as in effect immediately before June 30, 2011, at the time of 
application; 
     (C) Was certified as a smoke shop under ORS 433.835(Definitions for ORS 
433.835 to 433.875) (5), as in effect immediately before June 30, 2011, by the 
authority on or before December 31, 2012; and 
     (D) Allows smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross 
revenues of the business results from the sale of cigarettes. 

 (3) A smoke shop certified under subsection (2)(b) of this section must renew the 
smoke shop certification every five years by demonstrating to the satisfaction of the 
authority that the smoke shop: 
  (a)(A) Meets the requirements of subsection (2)(a)(A) to (D) of this section; and 

     (B)(i) Is a stand-alone business with no other businesses or residential 
property attached; or 
         (ii) Has a ventilation system that exhausts smoke from the business and is 
designed and terminated in accordance with the state building code standards for 
the occupancy classification in use; and 
 (b) Allows smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross 
revenues of the business results from the sale of cigarettes. 

 (4) A smoke shop certified under subsection (2)(c) of this section must renew the 
smoke shop certification every five years by demonstrating to the satisfaction of the 
authority that the smoke shop: 

 (a) Meets the requirements of ORS 433.835 (Definitions for ORS 433.835 to 
433.875) (5), as in effect immediately before June 30, 2011; and 
 (b) Allows smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross 
revenues of the business results from the sale of cigarettes. 

 (5) The owner of a smoke shop certified under subsection (2)(b) or (c) of this 
section may transfer the certification with ownership of the smoke shop in 
accordance with rules adopted by the authority. 
 (6) A smoke shop certified under subsection (2)(b) of this section may continue to 
be certified in a new location under subsection (2)(b) of this section if: 
  (a)(A) The new location occupies no more than 3,500 square feet; or 

     (B) If the old location occupied more than 3,500 square feet, the new 
location occupies no more than 110 percent of the space occupied by the old 
location; and 

  (b) The smoke shop as operated in the new location: 
      (A) Meets the requirements of subsection (2)(a)(A) to (D) of this section; 

     (B)(i) Is a stand-alone business with no other businesses or residential 
property attached; or 
         (ii) Has a ventilation system that exhausts smoke from the business and is 
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designed and terminated in accordance with the state building code standards for 
the occupancy classification in use; and 
     (C) Allows smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross 
revenues of the business results from the sale of cigarettes. 

 (7) A smoke shop certified under subsection (2)(c) of this section may continue to 
be certified in a new location under subsection (2)(c) of this section if: 
  (a)(A) The new location occupies no more than 3,500 square feet; or 

     (B)If the old location occupied more than 3,500 square feet, the new location 
occupies no more than 110 percent of the space occupied by the old location; and 

  (b) The smoke shop as operated in the new location: 
     (A) Meets the requirements of ORS 433.835 (Definitions for ORS 433.835 
to 433.875) (5), as in effect immediately before June 30, 2011; and 
     (B) Allows smoking of cigarettes only if at least 75 percent of the gross 
revenues of the business results from the sale of cigarettes. 

 (8) The rules adopted under subsection (1) of this section must provide that, in 
order to obtain a smoke shop certification, a business must agree to allow the 
authority to make unannounced inspections of the business to determine compliance 
with ORS 433.835 (Definitions for ORS 433.835 to 433.875) to 433.875(Short title). 
[2011 c.601 §3] 
Note: Section 5, chapter 601, Oregon Laws 2011, provides: 
Sec. 5. Section 3 of this 2011 Act [433.847 (Smoke shop certification)] and the amendments to 
ORS 433.835 (Definitions for ORS 433.835 to 433.875) by section 1 of this 2011 Act apply to: 
(1)Businesses certified as smoke shops before, on or after the effective date of this 2011 Act [June 30, 2011]. 
(2)Applications for certification as a smoke shop submitted before, on or after the effective date of this 2011 Act. [2011 
c.601 §5] 

 
ORS 433.850 Smoke free place of employment required; exceptions; posting signs.  
 (1) An employer shall provide a place of employment that is free of tobacco smoke 
for all employees. 
 (2) Notwithstanding subsection (1) of this section: 

 (a) The owner or person in charge of a hotel or motel may designate up to 25 
percent of the sleeping rooms of the hotel or motel as rooms in which smoking is 
permitted. 
 (b) Smoking of noncommercial tobacco products for ceremonial purposes is 
permitted in spaces designated for traditional ceremonies in accordance with the 
American Indian Religious Freedom Act, 42 U.S.C. 1996. 

  (c) Smoking is permitted in a smoke shop. 
 (d) Smoking is permitted in a cigar bar that generated on-site retail sales of 
cigars of at least $5,000 for the calendar year ending December 31, 2006. 
 (e) A performer may smoke or carry a lighted smoking instrument that does 
not contain tobacco while performing in scripted stage, motion picture or 
television production if:  
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  (A) The production is produced by an organization whose primary 
purpose is producing scripted productions; and  
  (B) Smoking is an integral part of the production. 

 (3) An employer, except in those places described in subsection (2) of this section, 
shall post signs that provide notice of the provisions of ORS 433.835 to 433.875. 
[1981 c.384 §§4,5; 2001 c.104 §161; 2001 c.990 §2; 2007 c.602 §4; 2011 c. 234 §1] 
 
ORS 433.855 Duties of Oregon Health Authority; rules; limitations; compliance 
checks.  
 (1) The Oregon Health Authority, in accordance with the provisions of ORS 
chapter 183: 

 (a) Shall adopt rules necessary to implement the provisions of ORS 433.835 to 
433.875 and 433.990 (5); 

  (b) Shall be responsible for compliance with such rules; and 
 (c) May impose a civil penalty not to exceed $500 per day for each violation of 
a rule of the authority applicable to ORD 433.845 or 433.850, to be collected in 
the manner provided in ORS 441.705 to 441.745. All penalties recovered shall be 
paid into the State Treasury and credited to the Tobacco Use Reduction Account 
established under ORS 431.832. 

 (2) In carrying out its duties under this section, the Oregon Health Authority is not 
authorized to require any changes in ventilation or barriers in any public place or place 
of employment. However, nothing in this subsection is intended to limit the authority 
of the department to impose any requirements under any other provision of law. 
 (3) In public places which the Oregon Health Authority regularly inspects, the 
authority shall check for compliance with the provisions of ORS 433.835 to 433.875 
and 433.990 (5). In other public places and places of employment, the Oregon Health 
Authority shall respond in writing or orally by telephone to complaints, notifying the 
proprietor or person in charge of responsibilities of the proprietor or person in charge 
under ORS 433.835 to 433.875 and 433.990 (5). If repeated complaints are received, 
the Oregon Health Authority may take appropriate action to ensure compliance.  
 (4) When a county has received delegation of the duties and responsibilities under 
ORS 446.425 and 448.100, or contracted with the authority under ORS 190.110, the 
county shall be responsible for enforcing the provisions of ORS 433.835 to 433.875 
and 433.990(5) and shall have the same enforcement power as the authority.  
[1981 c.384 §6; 1991 c.734 §21; 2001 c.104 §162; 2001 c.990 §6; 2003 c.309 §6; 2007 
c.445 §36; 2007 c.602 §5; 2009 c.595 §686; 2011 c. 597§84a] 
 
ORS 433.860 Enforcement 
The Oregon Health Authority or local board of health may institute an action in the 
circuit court of the county where the violation occurred to enjoin repeated violations 
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of ORS 433.850 (Smoke free place of employment required). [1981 c.384 §7; 2009 
c.595 §687] 
 
ORS 433.870 Regulation in addition to other smoking regulations 
The rules authorized by ORS 433.855 (Duties of Oregon Health Authority) and 
433.860 (Enforcement) are in addition to and not in lieu of any other law regulating 
smoking. [1981 c.384 §11; 2001 c.104 §164; 2001 c.990 §5; 2007 c.602 §6] 
 
ORS 433.990 (Penalties)  
 (5) Violation of ORS 433.850 is a Class A violation. Fines imposed against a single 
employer under this subsection may not exceed $4000 in any 30-day period.  
[1973 c.779 §46; 1979 c.492 §6; 1979 c.828 §13; subsection (5) enacted as 1981 c.384 
§10; 1987 c.320 §232; 1987 c.600 §16; 1999 c.1051 §182; 2001 c.104 §166; 2001 c.636 
§5; 2001 c.990 §7; 2007 c.445 §30; 2007 c.602 §7; 2009 c.595 §688; 2011 c.597 §8] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors433.html 
 
 
Tobacco-Free Schools 
State 
State law forbids the use of tobacco products anywhere on school property or at 
school-sponsored events, including during non-school hours. This restriction includes 
all vehicles and facilities that are used by a school.  
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Department of Education and school districts 
 
Citation 
OAR 581-021-0110 Tobacco-Free Schools 

(1) For the purpose of this rule "tobacco" is defined to include any lighted or 
unlighted cigarette, cigar, pipe, bidi, clove cigarette, and any other smoking product, 
and spit tobacco, also known as smokeless, dip, chew, and snuff, in any form. 

(2) No student, staff member, or school visitor is permitted to smoke, inhale, dip, 
or chew or sell tobacco at any time, including non-school hours 

(a) In any building, facility, or vehicle owned, leased, rented, or chartered by the 
school district, school, or public charter school; or 
(b) On school grounds, athletic grounds, or parking lots. 

(3) No student is permitted to possess a tobacco product: 
(a) In any building, facility, or vehicle owned, leased, rented, or chartered by the 

school district, school, or public charter school; or 
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(b) On school grounds, athletic grounds, or parking lots. 
(4) By January 1, 2006, school districts must establish policies and procedures to 

implement and enforce this rule for students, staff and visitors. 
(5) For purposes of this rule, the term "school district" includes the Oregon 

School for the Deaf (OSD) and the Oregon School for the Blind (OSB). The Oregon 
School for the Deaf and the Oregon School for the Blind must establish, in 
cooperation with the Oregon Department of Education, policies and procedures to 
implement and enforce this rule for students, staff and visitors by June 30, 2006. 
 
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_500/oar_581/581_021.html 
 
 
Tobacco Use in Alcohol- and Other Drug-Program Faci lities 
State 
Tobacco use is not permitted in alcohol or other drug-treatment program facilities in 
Oregon. Additionally, outpatient programs may not allow tobacco use on program 
grounds. 
 
Enforcement  
Oregon Department of Human Services, Addictions and Mental Health Division 
 
Citation 
OAR 309-032-1540 Program Specific Service Standards  
In addition to individualized service and support planning and coordination, providers 
of each of the following program-specific service areas must ensure the following 
requirements listed for that service are met. 

(15) Building Requirements for Alcohol and Other Drug Programs: 
(f) Tobacco Use: Outpatient programs must not allow tobacco use in program 

facilities and on program grounds. Residential programs must not allow tobacco 
use in program facilities. 

 
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_300/oar_309/309_032.html 
 
 
Landlord-Tenant Disclosure of Smoking Policy 
State 
State law requires that rental agreements entered on or after January 1, 2010 include a 
disclosure of the smoking policy for the premises on which the rental unit is located. 
This requirement does not apply to rental agreements in which the owner of a 
manufactured home or floating home is renting space in a park or moorage because 
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such situations straddle the line between ownership and rental. 
 
Enforcement  
Private legal action 
 
Citation 
ORS 90.220 

(5) Except as provided in this subsection, the rental agreement must include a 
disclosure of the smoking policy for the premises that complies with ORS 479.305. A 
disclosure of smoking policy is not required in a rental agreement subject to ORS 
90.505 to 90.840 for space in a facility as defined in ORS 90.100. 
[Formerly 90.240; 2009 c.127 §3; 2009 c.431 §10] 
 

http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors090.html 
 

 
ORS 479.305 Smoking policy disclosure.  

(1) Except as provided in subsection (2) of this section, the rental agreement for a 
dwelling unit regulated under ORS chapter 90 must include a disclosure of the 
smoking policy for the premises on which the dwelling unit is located. The disclosure 
must state whether smoking is prohibited on the premises, allowed on the entire 
premises or allowed in limited areas on the premises. If the smoking policy allows 
smoking in limited areas on the premises, the disclosure must identify the areas on the 
premises where smoking is allowed. 

(2) This section does not apply to a rental agreement subject to ORS 90.505 to 
90.840 for space in a facility as defined in ORS 90.100. [2009 c.127 §2] 
  

Note: Section 5, chapter 127, Oregon Laws 2009, provides: 
Sec. 5. Section 2 of this 2009 Act [479.305] and the amendments to ORS 90.220 by 

section 3 of this 2009 Act apply to rental agreements that a tenant enters into on or 
after the effective date of this 2009 Act [January 1, 2010]. [2009 c.127 §5] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors479.html 
 
 
Tobacco Free In-home Child Day Care 
State 
Many daycare environments are workplaces and therefore fall under the Oregon 
Indoor Clean Air Act as environments that are required to be smokefree.  
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Additionally, Registered in-home child day care provider homes and cars are required 
to be tobacco free during the time that clients or children are present. 
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Child Care Division 
 
Citation 
OAR 414-205-0100 Health 
(1) The home must be a healthy environment for children.  (a) No person shall smoke 
or use smokeless tobacco in the family child care home during the hours the child 
care business is conducted. No person shall smoke or use smokeless tobacco in motor 
vehicles while child care children are passengers.  
 
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_400/oar_414/414_205.html 
 
 
Tobacco Free Correctional Facilities 
State 
Inmates in State of Oregon correctional facilities are not allowed to possess or use 
tobacco products.  
 
Enforcement  
Oregon Department of Corrections 
 
Citation 
OAR 291-105-0015 (e) 1.11 Contraband II: An inmate commits Contraband II if 
he/she possesses contraband other than that listed in Contraband I (OAR 291-105-
0015(d)(A)–(G) and Contraband III (291-105-0015(f) and it creates a threat to the 
safety, security or orderly operation of the facility, including but not limited to:  
(A) 1.11.01 Tobacco or smoking paraphernalia, unauthorized medication, items of 
barter (such as jewelry or canteen items not purchased by the inmate), checks, money 
under $10, or unauthorized sexually explicit material. 
 
http://arcweb.sos.state.or.us/pages/rules/oars_200/oar_291/291_105.html 
 
 
Smoke-free Cars for Kids 
State 



 

35 
 

III. Smokefree Environments Laws 

Smoking in a motor vehicle with a minor under the age of 18 present is a secondary 
traffic violation. Individuals can be fined up to $250 for first offense and up to $500 
for second or subsequent offenses for smoking in a vehicle when youth are present.  
 
Enforcement  
Oregon State Police 
 
Citation 
ORS 811.193 
Chapter 361, Oregon Laws 2013 (Senate Bill 444) creates a new offense to add to 
OAR 735-072-0035 (Driver Improvement Offenses)  
Section 1. Section 2 of this 2013 Act is added to and made part of the Oregon Vehicle 
Code.  
Section 2.  
(1)(a) A person commits the offense of smoking in a motor vehicle if the person 
smokes in a motor vehicle while a person under 18 years of age is in the motor 
vehicle.  

(b) As used in this subsection, “smokes” means to inhale, exhale, burn or carry  
a lighted cigarette, cigar, pipe, weed, plant, regulated narcotic or other 
combustible substance.  

(2) Notwithstanding ORS 810.410, a police officer may enforce this section only if the 
police officer has already stopped and detained the driver operating the motor vehicle 
for a separate traffic violation or other offense.  
(3) Smoking in a motor vehicle is a:  

(a) Class D traffic violation for a first offense.  
(b) Cass C traffic violation for a second or subsequent offense.  

  
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2013orLaw0361.pdf 
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IV. Tobacco Taxes, Payments, and Distribution 
 
Oregon-Specific Tobacco Taxes  
 
Oregon’s per pack cigarette tax is $1.18. In the October 2013 special session, 
lawmakers passed an escalated increase in cigarette taxes. 

• 13 cents in 2013-2015 ($1.31 tax) 
• 14 cents in 2015-2017 ($1.45 tax) 
• 15 cents in 2017-2019 ($1.60 tax) 

 
Other tobacco products (OTPs), except for cigars and moist snuff, are taxed at 65 
percent of the wholesale price. Under Oregon tax law, moist snuff includes any finely 
cut, ground or powdered tobacco that is not intended to be smoked or placed in a 
nasal cavity, as well as any other tobacco-containing product that is intended or 
expected to be consumed without being combusted. 
 
Cigars are taxed at 65 percent of the wholesale price, up to a maximum of 50 cents 
per cigar. The tax on moist snuff is $1.78 per ounce based on net weight, as 
determined by the manufacturer, with a minimum tax of $2.14 per retail container. 
Beginning on July 1, 2022, the Department of Revenue will raise the tax on moist 
snuff every two years.  
 
Citation 
Oregon Tobacco Tax Code: ORS 323.030, 323.031, 323.500, 323.505 
 
DISTRIBUTION OF STATE TAX REVENUE 
Distribution of Cigarette Taxes 
Recipient Fund Amount Per Pack Dollar Amount for 2013-2015 

Biennium* 

General Fund 23 cents $75.4 Million 

Oregon Health Plan 87 cents $267.3 Million 

Tobacco Use Reduction Account (TURA) 4 cents $10.7 Million 

Cities  2 cents $7.1 Million 

Counties 2 cents $7.1 Million 

Public Transit 2 cents $7.1 Million 

Mental Health 10 cents $22.7 Million 

Total $1.31 $397.4 Million 
*Based on December 2013 Economic and Revenue Forecast from the Oregon Office of Economic 
Analysis.  Note: Beginning January 1, 2014 taxes per pack were raised $0.13 to a total of $1.31 per 
pack. The distribution of the $0.13 increase is split $0.10 to Mental Health, $0.013 to the state 
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general fund, $0.002 to Tobacco Use Reduction and $0.016 to the Health Plan. Amounts per pack 
for each recipient will not add to the total of $1.31 due to rounding conventions. 

  
Citation 
ORS 323.455, 323.457 
 
Distribution of Other Tobacco Products Taxes 
Recipient Fund Percent of 

Allocation 
Dollar Amount for 2013-2015 
Biennium* 

General Fund 53.84 percent $59.4 Million 

Oregon Health Plan 41.54 percent $45.8 Million 

Tobacco Use Reduction Account (TURA) 4.62 percent $5.1 Million 

Total 100 percent $110.3 Million 

*Based on December 2013 revenue forecast. 
 
Citation 
ORS 323 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors323.html 
 
 
Ballot Measure 44 Statute (Use of TURA Funds) 
State 
Oregon law mandates that money from the TURA be used to fund tobacco 
prevention and education programs. The Department of Human Services awards 
grants to programs that educate the public about the risks associated with tobacco 
use, records the grant allocations, and presents the report to the Governor every two 
years.  
 
Enforcement 
State Treasurer 
 
Citation 
ORS 431.832 Tobacco Use Reduction Account established.  
 (1) There is established in the General Fund the Tobacco Use Reduction Account. 
 (2) Amounts credited to the Tobacco Use Reduction Account are continuously 
appropriated to the Department of Human Services for the funding of prevention 
and education programs designed to reduce cigarette and tobacco use. [1997 c.2 §13; 
2009 c.595 §592] 
 
ORS 431.834 Department to adopt rules; contents.  
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The Department of Human Services shall develop and adopt rules for awarding 
grants to programs for educating the public on the risk of tobacco use, including but 
not limited to: 
 (1) Educating children on the health hazards and consequences of tobacco use; 
and 
 (2) Promoting enrollment in smoking cessation programs and programs that 
prevent smoking-related diseases including cancer and other diseases of the heart, 
lungs and mouth. [1997 c.2 §14; 2009 c.595 §593] 
 
ORS 431.836 Department to prepare report.  
During each biennium, the Department of Human Services shall prepare a report 
regarding the awarding of grants from the Tobacco Use Reduction Account and the 
formation of public-private partnerships in connection with the receipt of funds from 
the account. The department shall present the report to the Governor and to those 
committees of the Legislative Assembly to which matters of public health are 
assigned. [1997 c.2 §15; 2009 c.595 §594] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors431.html 
 
 
Tobacco Sold On Tribal Land 
State 
As sovereign nations, Oregon’s federally recognized tribes are not required to sell 
taxed tobacco. However, eight of the nine federally recognized tribes in Oregon have 
entered into compacts with the state, whereby they have agreed to sell only Oregon-
taxed cigarettes. In return, the State of Oregon provides each of these tribes with a 
population-based allocation from tobacco-tax revenue. Cow Creek is the only 
federally recognized tribe in Oregon that has not entered into a cigarette tax compact 
with the state. No Oregon tribes manufacture or sell their own tobacco. 
 
Master Settlement Agreement (MSA) Financial Provisi ons 
Pursuant to the Master Settlement Agreement, settling states will receive more than 
$206 billion from the tobacco industry over 25 years. All money paid to the state 
under the MSA is deposited into the Tobacco Settlement Funds Account, which is an 
account in the General Fund.  
 
Oregon receives approximately $181,000,000 per biennium in MSA funds. Until 2013, 
most of these funds will be used to pay back general appropriation bonds purchased 
by the state in 2003. Some funds are also dedicated to OHSU bonds and to the 
Tobacco Enforcement Fund. For the 2009-2011 biennium, Oregon allocated $139 
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million to the Oregon Appropriation Bond Fund, $32 million to the OHSU Bond 
Fund, and $30 million to DHS for the Oregon Health Plan. The Department of 
Administrative Services will distribute these funds from the Tobacco Settlement 
Funds Account. 
 
 
Tobacco Enforcement Fund 
State 
The Tobacco Enforcement Fund was established for the purpose of funding the 
Oregon Department of Justice’s enforcement of the MSA. The Tobacco 
Enforcement Fund consists of money that is transferred from the Tobacco 
Settlement Funds Account, as well as recovered expenses from MSA enforcement 
proceedings. Money from the Tobacco Settlement Funds Account is allotted to the 
Tobacco Enforcement Fund every biennium pursuant to ORS 293.537. 
 
Enforcement 
Oregon Department of Administrative Services  
 
Citation 
ORS 293.537 Tobacco Settlement Funds Account; sources; uses; investment.  
 (1) The Tobacco Settlement Funds Account is established as an account in the 
General Fund. Except as provided in section 2, chapter 11, Oregon Laws 2003, the 
account shall consist of all moneys paid to this state under the Master Settlement 
Agreement of 1998. 
 (2) Before July 1 of each odd-numbered year, the Department of Justice shall 
submit for approval to the Oregon Department of Administrative Services the 
estimated costs that will be incurred by the Department of Justice in the subsequent 
biennium in enforcing the provisions of ORS 180.400 to 180.455, 323.106 and 
323.806. On July 1 of each odd-numbered year, a sum equal to the amount approved 
by the Oregon Department of Administrative Services shall be transferred from the 
Tobacco Settlement Funds Account to the Tobacco Enforcement Fund established 
under ORS 180.205. If the Department of Justice determines during a biennium that 
it needs funds for purposes described in this subsection in addition to the amount 
approved by the Oregon Department of Administrative Services, the Department of 
Justice may request transfer of additional moneys from the Tobacco Settlement Funds 
Account and the additional amount approved by the Oregon Department of 
Administrative Services shall be transferred to the Tobacco Enforcement Fund. 
[2001 c.977 §§1,2,3; 2002 s.s.5 c.2 §17; 2003 c.11 §8; 2003 c.801 §24; 2007 c.853 §1] 
  
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors293.html 
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ORS 180.205 Tobacco Enforcement Fund.  
 (1) The Tobacco Enforcement Fund is established separate and distinct from the 
General Fund. The Tobacco Enforcement Fund shall consist of: 
  (a) Moneys deposited into the fund under ORS 180.450; and 
  (b) Moneys transferred to the fund under ORS 293.537. 
 (2) Moneys in the Tobacco Enforcement Fund are continuously appropriated to 
the Department of Justice for the purpose of enforcing the provisions of ORS 
180.400 to 180.455, 323.106 and 323.806. Moneys in the fund are not subject to 
allotment under ORS 291.234 to 291.260.  
 
ORS 180.450 Judicial review; civil remedies; rules.  
      (3) In any action brought by the state to enforce ORS 180.410, 180.415, 180.420, 
180.430, 180.435, 180.440 or 323.806, or any rule adopted under this section or ORS 
180.445, the state may recover the costs of investigation, expert witness fees, costs of 
the action and reasonable attorney fees. Moneys recovered under this subsection shall 
be deposited into the Tobacco Enforcement Fund established under ORS 180.205. 
      (4) If a court determines that a person has violated any provision of ORS 180.410, 
180.415, 180.420, 180.430, 180.435 or 180.440, or any rule adopted under this section 
or ORS 180.445, the court shall order any profits, gain, gross receipts or other benefit 
from the violation to be disgorged and paid to the Tobacco Enforcement Fund 
established under ORS 180.205. 
[2003 c.801 §10] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors180.html 
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V. Tobacco and Cigarette-Related Product Regulation  
 
For the most part, tobacco products are regulated at the federal level, including broad 
sweeping federal authority over cigarettes given to the Federal Drug Administration 
by Congress in 2009.  However, Oregon does have some additional product related 
laws that are stronger than federal law. 
 
Reduced-Ignition-Propensity Cigarettes 
State 
Only reduced-ignition-propensity, fire-standard compliant cigarettes may be sold in 
Oregon. The State Fire Marshal determines which cigarettes meet this standard. 
Additionally, the Fire Marshal is authorized to seize and destroy cigarettes that do not 
meet the standard and may inspect the inventory of cigarette manufacturers, 
wholesale or retail dealers and transporters as necessary to ensure compliance. 
Violations are punishable by civil penalties, which will be credited to the Cigarette Fire 
Safety Fund. 
 
Enforcement 
State Fire Marshal or representative 
 
Citation  
ORS 476.760 Prohibition against distributing or offering certain cigarettes; improper 
packaging markings; seizure and forfeiture; interagency agreements; inspections; rules. 

(1) A person may not distribute or offer to sell a cigarette within this state unless 
the cigarette is of a variety the State Fire Marshal has determined to have reduced 
ignition propensity. 

(3) The State Fire Marshal, an authorized representative of the State Fire Marshal 
or any law enforcement agency may immediately seize and subject to forfeiture any 
cigarettes distributed or offered for sale in violation of subsection (1) of this section 
and any packaging, and cigarettes contained in that packaging, that violates subsection 
(2) of this section. The State Fire Marshal shall destroy cigarettes and packaging seized 
and forfeited under this subsection. However, prior to destroying cigarettes or 
packaging seized under this subsection, the State Fire Marshal shall allow the true 
holder of the trademark rights in the cigarette variety to inspect the cigarettes and 
packaging. 

(5)(a) The State Fire Marshal or an authorized representative, upon oral or written 
demand, may inspect the inventory of cigarette manufacturers, wholesale or retail 
dealers and transporters as the State Fire Marshal or an authorized representative 
deems necessary to ensure compliance with this section. The State Fire Marshal may 
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adopt rules to require reports, in a form prescribed by the State Fire Marshal, by 
cigarette manufacturers, wholesale or retail dealers and transporters for the purpose of 
ensuring compliance with this section. 
  
ORS 476.770 Determination of cigarette variety ignition propensity; reduced ignition 
propensity standard; listing; cigarette design; rules. 

(1) For each variety of cigarette sold or proposed for sale in this state, the State 
Fire Marshal shall determine whether that variety of cigarette has reduced ignition 
propensity. 

(2) Any cigarette variety certified by a manufacturer under ORS 476.780 shall be 
determined to have reduced ignition propensity. 
  
ORS 476.780 Cigarette variety certification by manufacturer; retesting; record 
retention; unfavorable determination by State Fire Marshal. 

(1) A manufacturer shall submit a written certification attesting that each variety of 
cigarette listed in the certification has been subjected to ignition propensity testing 
described in ORS 476.770 and meets the fire safety performance standard described 
in ORS 476.770 (6). 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors476.html 
 
 
Prohibition on the Sale or Distribution of Novelty Lighters 
State 
Oregon law prohibits selling, offering for sale or distributing novelty lighters. It is also 
illegal to manufacture, import, or possess novelty lighters in inventory for the purpose 
of sale or distribution. Exceptions apply to lighters manufactured before January 1, 
1980, and those that are permanently altered to prevent flame or other causes of 
combustion. Violations are subject to a civil penalty of up to $500 per day for retail 
sellers or distributors, $1,000 per day for wholesalers, and $10,000 per day for 
manufacturers or importers. The State Fire Marshal determines which lighters are 
novelty lighters and is authorized to inspect facilities, inventory, and records related to 
the manufacture, import, wholesale, storage, sale, or distribution of lighters. 
 
Enforcement 
State Fire Marshal or representative 
 
 
Citation 
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ORS 476.831 Definitions for ORS 476.831 to 476.856.  
As used in ORS 476.831 to 476.856: 

(6) “Novelty lighter”: 
(a) Means a lighter that has misleading design, audio effects or visual effects, or 

that has other features of a type that would reasonably be expected to make the 
lighter appealing or attractive to a child less than 10 years of age. 

(b) Does not mean: 
(A) A lighter manufactured before January 1, 1980; or 
(B) A lighter that has been rendered permanently incapable of producing a 

flame or otherwise causing combustion. 
 

ORS 476.836 Identification of novelty lighters; rules; disposition of contraband 
lighters.  

(2) The State Fire Marshal shall establish and maintain a list of lighters, and of 
classes and types of lighters, that the State Fire Marshal has determined to be novelty 
lighters. The State Fire Marshal shall make the list available to the public in electronic 
form or in other forms selected by the State Fire Marshal. 
 

ORS 476.841 Prohibition against sale or distribution of novelty lighters; civil penalties. 
(1) A person may not sell, offer for sale or distribute a novelty lighter in this state. 

A person may not manufacture a novelty lighter in this state, or import a novelty 
lighter into this state, for the purpose of selling or distributing the novelty lighter 
within this state. A person may not possess a novelty lighter in inventory for the 
purpose of selling or distributing the novelty lighter within this state. 

(2) The State Fire Marshal may impose a civil penalty against a person who violates 
subsection (1) of this section. The civil penalty may not exceed: 

(a) $10,000 if the person is a manufacturer or importer of lighters. 
(b) $1,000 if the person is a wholesaler of lighters or distributes lighters by 

means other than distribution directly to consumers. 
(c) $500 if the person is: 

(A) A retail seller of lighters; or 
(B) A person distributing lighters, if the person is other than a 

manufacturer, importer or wholesaler. 
(3) If a person continues to violate this section after the State Fire Marshal gives 

the person written notice of the violation, each day that the violation continues is a 
separate offense subject to a civil penalty. 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors476.html 
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Electronic Cigarettes (E-Cigarettes) 
State 
E-cigarettes are devices designed to mimic the look and experience of smoking a 
cigarette. Each e-cigarette contains a battery-operated heating element and a cartridge 
filled with a nicotine-containing liquid that may be flavored. The heating element 
vaporizes the liquid, which users inhale and exhale like smoke. E-cigarettes are not 
FDA approved.  
 
In 2009, the Oregon DOJ reached legal settlements with three retailers and an 
agreement with e-cigarette company Sottera, Inc., the national distributor of NJOY 
brand e-cigarettes, which prohibit them from selling or distributing e-cigarettes in the 
state until the products meet federal and state regulatory standards. On August 9, 
2010, the DOJ settled a case that it filed in Marion County Court against Florida-
based e-cigarette company Smoking Everywhere for making false health claims and 
targeting children. The settlement agreement includes an express admission by the 
company that it violated Oregon’s Unlawful Trade Practices Act, requires the 
company to pay more than $95,000 to the DOJ, and permanently bars the company 
from doing business in the state. Additionally, the agreement requires Smoking 
Everywhere’s president to pay $25,000 and refrain from transacting any business in 
Oregon related to e-cigarettes, tobacco products, nicotine delivery devices, drugs, or 
drug delivery devices of any kind.  
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Prohibition of Employer Restrictions on Off-Duty To bacco Use  
State 
Oregon law prohibits employers from requiring that employees refrain from using 
legal tobacco products during nonworking hours on non-employer property, except 
when the restriction relates to a genuine occupational requirement or a collective 
bargaining agreement prohibits off-duty tobacco use.  
 
Enforcement 
Private legal action 
 
Citation 
ORS 659A.315 Restricting use of tobacco in nonworking hours prohibited; 
exceptions. 
 (1) It is an unlawful employment practice for any employer to require, as a 
condition of employment, that any employee or prospective employee refrain from 
using lawful tobacco products during nonworking hours, except when the restriction 
relates to a bona fide occupational requirement. 
 (2) Subsection (1) of this section does not apply if an applicable collective 
bargaining agreement prohibits off-duty use of tobacco products.  
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors659A.html 
 
 
Supersedeas 
State 
A supersedeas is a bond that suspends a judgment creditor’s power to levy execution, 
usually pending appeal. Oregon law limits the supersedeas bond amount in tobacco 
litigations to $150 million, and provides that the supersedeas will suspend a financial 
judgment pending appeal. 
 
Citation 
ORS 19.312 Supersedeas undertaking in certain actions against tobacco product 
manufacturer.  
 (1) The provisions of this section apply only to civil actions against a tobacco 
product manufacturer as defined in ORS 323.800, or against an affiliate or successor 
of a tobacco product manufacturer, in which: 

 (a) The tobacco product manufacturer is subject to the requirements of ORS 
323.806; and 
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  (b) The state is not a plaintiff. 
 (2) In any civil action described in subsection (1) of this section, the supersedeas 
undertaking required of the tobacco product manufacturer, or of an affiliate or 
successor of the tobacco product manufacturer, as a condition of a stay of judgment 
throughout all appeals or discretionary appellate review, shall be established in the 
manner provided by the laws and court rules of this state applicable to supersedeas 
undertakings, but the amount of the supersedeas undertaking may not exceed $150 
million. 
 (3) If at any time after the posting of the supersedeas undertaking pursuant to the 
provisions of this section the court determines that a tobacco product manufacturer, 
affiliate or successor, outside of the ordinary course of its business, is purposely 
dissipating or diverting assets for the purpose of avoiding payment on final judgment 
in the action, the court may condition continuance of the stay on an order requiring 
that the tobacco product manufacturer, affiliate or successor post a supersedeas 
undertaking in an amount up to the full amount of the judgment. 
 (4) The provisions of this section apply to any supersedeas undertaking required 
for a judgment entered by a court of this state and to any security required as a 
condition of staying enforcement of a foreign judgment under the provisions of ORS 
24.135 (2).  
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors019.html 
 
 
Littering Law 
State 
Oregon law prohibits littering. Cigarette butts are considered litter and may not be 
deposited or discarded on public property or the private property of another. 
Individuals who throw, or permit others to throw, cigarette butts from their vehicles 
commit the offense of littering. Violations of the littering law are Class C 
misdemeanors. 
 
Enforcement 
Local law enforcement authorities 
 
Citation 
ORS 164.805 Offensive littering. 
 (1) A person commits the crime of offensive littering if the person creates an 
objectionable stench or degrades the beauty or appearance of property or detracts 
from the natural cleanliness or safety of property by intentionally: 

 (a) Discarding or depositing any rubbish, trash, garbage, debris or other refuse 
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upon the land of another without permission of the owner, or upon any public 
way or in or upon any public transportation facility; 

…or 
(c) Permitting any rubbish, trash, garbage, debris or other refuse to be thrown 

from a vehicle that the person is operating. This subsection does not apply to a 
person operating a vehicle transporting passengers for hire subject to regulation by 
the Interstate Commerce Commission or the Department of Transportation or a 
person operating a school bus described under ORS 801.460. 
(3) Offensive littering is a Class C misdemeanor. [1971 c.743 §283; 1975 c.344 §2; 

1983 c.338 §897; 1985 c.420 §20; 2007 c.71 §52] 
 
http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors164.html
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Master Settlement Agreement (MSA) and Smokeless Tob acco Master Settlement 
Agreement (STMSA) 
The Master Settlement Agreement (MSA) was reached in 1998 to settle litigation 
brought by the Attorneys General of 46 states and 6 U.S. jurisdictions against the 
tobacco industry. The four largest U.S. tobacco manufacturers originally signed the 
agreement; two smaller manufacturers joined later. The MSA is a binding agreement 
that settles the states’ claims against the participating manufacturers for recovery of 
tobacco-related health care costs. It also exempts the manufacturers from private tort 
liability for harms due to tobacco use. In exchange, the MSA restricts the participating 
manufacturers’ marketing practices and requires them to make annual payments to the 
states, which the states will use to cover their smoking-related health care costs and to 
compensate private parties who are injured by tobacco use. 
 
The Smokeless Tobacco Master Settlement Agreement (STMSA) was concluded at 
the same time as the MSA. The STMSA is an agreement between the settling 
states/jurisdictions and the U.S. Tobacco Company (USTC), the nation’s largest 
manufacturer of smokeless tobacco. It sets forth marketing and advertising 
restrictions identical to those in the MSA, and also bans the distribution of free 
samples to sports teams. USTC was required to make payments for 10 years to the 
American Legacy Foundation and a one-time payment to the National Association of 
Attorneys General. Unlike the MSA, however, the STMSA does not require 
participating manufacturers to make annual payments to the states. Currently, USTC 
is the only smokeless tobacco signatory to the STMSA. 
 
To prevent nonparticipating manufacturers (those who are not parties to the MSA or 
STMSA) from gaining a significant market advantage, Oregon law requires that 
nonparticipating manufacturers either comply with provisions of the relevant 
Agreement or make annual escrow payments to the state. The escrow payments will 
be used to pay for any health-related costs incurred by the state or its citizens due to 
tobacco use for which the manufacturer is responsible; payments that are not used 
within 25 years will be refunded. Due to recent litigation, nonparticipating smokeless 
tobacco manufacturers who choose to comply with the conditions of the STMSA instead 
of making escrow payments are no longer required to abide by the restrictions on 
lobbying and legal challenges set forth in Sections III(m) and V. Other provisions of 
the Oregon law (ORS 323.816) are still being disputed in state court (Conwood Co., 
LLC v. Kroger). 
 
Citation 
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ORS 323.800-816 
 
 http://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/lawsstatutes/2011ors323.html 
 
 
Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act 
The Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act was signed into law on 
June 22, 2009. The Act gives the FDA comprehensive authority to regulate the 
manufacture, marketing, and sale of tobacco and imposes a user fee on tobacco 
companies to help fund FDA’s new responsibilities. The Act also reduces the scope 
of federal preemption of state regulation in the area of cigarette advertising, requires 
tobacco companies to disclose the full contents of their products and results of any 
health studies, strengthens the required package-label warnings, and prescribes certain 
marketing and advertising restrictions. 
 
In August 2009, several tobacco companies collectively brought suit in the U.S. 
District Court for the Western District of Kentucky to challenge the constitutionality 
of various provisions of the Act (Commonwealth Brands, Inc. v. United States, 678 F. Supp. 
2d 512 (W.D. Ky. 2010)). The companies alleged that the new law violates their free 
speech and due process rights, and that it takes their property without providing 
compensation. The court struck down as unconstitutional 1) the ban on color 
graphics in labels and advertising and 2) the ban on claims implying that a tobacco 
product is safer due to FDA regulation. All other challenged provisions were upheld 
and neither party has appealed the decision. 
 
 
Prevent All Cigarette Trafficking Act of 2009 (PACT  Act) 
The PACT Act was signed into law on March 31, 2010. It requires Internet and mail-
order merchants of tobacco products to pay all applicable federal, state, local or tribal 
tobacco taxes; comply with the state and local laws that govern the jurisdictions in 
which their customers are located; and verify the age of purchasers at the times of 
purchase and delivery. The Act provides states, localities, and tribes with some 
authority to enforce its provisions. 
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United States v. Philip Morris USA, Inc.  
[449 F. Supp. 2d 1 (D.D.C. 2006), 566 F.3d 1095 (D.C. Cir. 2009)] 
In 1999, the U.S. Department of Justice filed a case against the major American 
cigarette manufacturers (“tobacco industry”) in the U.S. District Court for the District 
of Columbia. DOJ alleged that the industry violated the Racketeer Influenced and 
Corrupt Organizations (RICO) Act by conspiring to defraud the public. DOJ charged 
that the industry had knowingly produced dangerous and addictive products, and had 
misled the public about the associated risks.  
 
In 2006, the District Court found the industry guilty of RICO violations and ordered, 
among other things, that the industry cease all racketeering activity, make corrective 
disclosures, and refrain from making false, misleading, or deceptive representations 
about cigarettes. However, the court denied the government’s request for 
disgorgement of the industry’s profits, finding that this was not an appropriate remedy 
under RICO. Both parties appealed the ruling to the D.C. Circuit Court of Appeals, 
which affirmed the finding of liability and denial of disgorgement, but partially 
vacated the judgment and remanded the case to the District Court in 2009. A petition 
to have the case heard by the U.S. Supreme Court was denied without comment. The 
case is currently on remand to the District Court, but the prior judgment is final with 
respect to the issues of liability and disgorgement. 
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

Sales           

Minimum age for sale or 

purchase of tobacco 

products 

N/A 

It is illegal to sell cigarettes or 

smokeless tobacco to a person 

under the age of 18. (CFR § 

1140.14(a)). 

Determined by the 

applicable law at the place 

of delivery 

N/A 

It is illegal for retailers to sell cigarettes 

or smokeless tobacco to a person under 

the age of 18, and also for an underage 

person to purchase tobacco products. 

(ORS 163.575, 167.401) 

Verification of purchaser's 

age 
N/A 

Cigarette and smokeless tobacco 

retailers must check photo ID to 

verify that a purchaser is 18 years 

of age.  

Delivery seller must verify 

the age of a purchaser 

prior to accepting a 

delivery sale order, and 

require the purchaser or 

another adult meeting the 

minimum age to sign for 

delivery and provide proof 

of age with a valid 

government-issued photo 

ID. 

N/A 

Delivery seller must verify the age of a 

purchaser via written certification and 

photo ID, and use a delivery method 

that requires a signature from the 

consumer or an adult living at the same 

residence. 

Vending machines and self-

service displays 
N/A 

Cigarettes and smokeless tobacco 

may not be sold through vending 

machines or self-service displays 

except in facilities that are off 

limits to minors (<18). In all other 

venues, retailers may only sell in 

a direct, face-to-face 

 exchange.  

N/A N/A 

Cigarettes and smokeless tobacco may 

not be sold through vending machines 

or self-service displays except in 

facilities that are off limits to minors 

(<21). In all other venues, retailers may 

only sell in a direct, face-to-face 

exchange.  
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

Cigarette package size; 

minimum sale quantity 
N/A 

No sales of cigarette packages 

that contain fewer than 20 

cigarettes. 

 It is prohibited to break apart a 

package of cigarettes or 

smokeless tobacco in order to sell 

or distribute in a quantity smaller 

than the smallest package size. 

N/A N/A 
Cigarettes may only be sold in a sealed 

package. 

Cigarette flavoring N/A 

No flavors other than menthol 

may be used in cigarettes, 

including in the “component 

parts” (filter, paper, etc.). 

N/A N/A N/A 

Other restrictions N/A N/A 

Cigarettes, roll-your-own 

tobacco, and STPs are 

nonmailable matter 

except: within AK or HI, 

for business purposes 

between tobacco 

businesses, by individuals 

for noncommercial 

purposes, or for consumer 

testing by manufacturers 

or the federal 

government. 

N/A 

Retailers must post a notice informing 

the public that selling tobacco products 

to individuals under 18 is prohibited. 
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

Advertising, Marketing, & 

Labeling 
          

Marketing Tactics           

Targeting youth 

Manufacturers are enjoined 

from targeting youth with 

advertisement, promotion, 

marketing, or taking any action 

in order to initiate, maintain or 

increase the incidence of 

tobacco use by youth in any 

settling state. 

FDA regulations are tailored to 

restrict advertising and 

promotional practices that are 

most likely to be seen or heard by 

youth and to entice them into 

tobacco use. 

N/A, but one of the 

purposes of PACT is to 

prevent and reduce youth 

access to cigarettes and 

smokeless tobacco 

through illegal Internet or 

contraband sales. 

No remedies specifically 

relating to youth 

marketing were 

prescribed. 

Illegal to give free samples to youth to 

encourage tobacco-product use. 

Use of graphics in tobacco 

advertising 

Cartoon characters may not be 

used in the advertisement, 

promotion, packaging, or 

labeling of tobacco products, 

or in the names of stadiums or 

arenas 

Only black text on a white 

background may be used in print 

and video advertising and 

labeling of cigarettes and 

smokeless tobacco. Audio 

advertising is limited to words 

only.** 

N/A N/A N/A 

Media promotion 

No payments are permitted to 

promote tobacco products in 

movies, TV shows, theater or 

live performances, videos, or 

video games. 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

Transit and outdoor 

advertising 

Transit advertising and most 

outdoor advertising are 

prohibited, including: 

billboards, signs and placards 

in arenas, stadiums, shopping 

malls, and video game arcades. 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Combination products N/A 

Cigarettes and smokeless tobacco 

products may not be marketed in 

combination with any other 

product regulated by the FDA. 

N/A N/A N/A 

Third-party advertisement 

of tobacco products 

Tobacco companies may not 

authorize third parties to use 

or advertise tobacco brand 

names. 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Gifts with purchase 

No gifts or other items may be 

offered to youths in exchange 

for purchasing a tobacco 

product.  Gifts may not be 

distributed through the mail 

without proof of age. 

No gifts or other items may be 

provided in exchange for 

purchasing cigarettes or a 

smokeless tobacco product. 

N/A N/A N/A 

Tobacco brand-name 

merchandise 

No distribution or sale of non-

tobacco merchandise with 

tobacco brand-name logos 

except at the site of permitted 

brand-name sponsorships.  

Non-tobacco items may not bear 

the brand name, logo, symbol, 

motto, or recognizable color or 

pattern of colors identifiable with 

any cigarette or smokeless 

tobacco brand. 

N/A N/A N/A 
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

Sampling 

No free samples of tobacco 

products may be distributed 

except in "adult-only facilities." 

No free samples of tobacco 

products may be distributed, 

except smokeless tobacco in a 

"qualified adult-only facility." 

Sampling is prohibited to any 

sports team or entertainment 

group, or at any sporting or 

entertainment event. 

N/A N/A 

Free tobacco products (“sampling”) 

may not be distributed to people under 

18 as part of a marketing strategy that 

encourages tobacco use. Additionally, 

free samples of smokeless tobacco may 

not be given to anyone under the age 

of 21 or distributed in any area in which 

people under the age of 21 are allowed. 

New brand names 

Future cigarette or smokeless 

tobacco brands may not be 

named after recognized non-

tobacco brand or trade names, 

nationally recognized sports 

teams, entertainment groups, 

or celebrities. 

N/A N/A N/A N/A 

Racketeering N/A N/A N/A 

Cigarette 

manufacturers***  were 

found guilty of 

racketeering by federal 

courts; they must refrain 

from any acts of 

racketeering relating to 

the manufacturing, 

promotion, health 

consequences, or sale of 

cigarettes. 

N/A 
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

False representations 

Manufacturers may not 

misrepresent the health 

consequences of using tobacco 

products. 

A tobacco product is considered 

"misbranded" if its labeling is 

false or misleading in any way. 

N/A 

Cigarette 

manufacturers*** may 

not make any material 

false, misleading, or 

deceptive representation 

concerning cigarettes. 

N/A 

Sponsorship           

Types of events 

No brand-name sponsorship of 

concerts°, team sports, events 

with a significant youth 

audience, or events where the 

paid participants or 

contestants are underage. 

No cigarette or smokeless 

tobacco brand-name sponsorship 

of a team or any athletic, musical, 

artistic, other social, or cultural 

events. Corporate sponsorship is 

permitted only if it does not 

include the brand name of a 

domestic tobacco product. 

N/A N/A N/A 

Frequency 
One brand-name sponsorship 

per year. 

No limit for corporate 

sponsorships. (See provision for 

"Types of Events"). 

N/A N/A N/A 

Health Claims & Warnings           

Terms such as “light,” “low 

tar” or “mild” 
N/A 

May not be used on cigarette or 

smokeless tobacco packages, 

labeling, or advertising. 

N/A 

Defendant companies 

must cease using any 

express or implied health 

message or health 

descriptor, such as light 

or low tar, for any 

cigarette brand 

N/A 
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

Statements regarding FDA 

endorsement or approval 
N/A 

Cigarette and smokeless tobacco 

product packaging or advertising 

may not include any express or 

implied statement that would 

mislead consumers into believing 

that the product is (1) approved 

by the FDA, (2) endorsed by the 

FDA, (3) deemed safe by the FDA, 

or (4) less harmful due to FDA 

regulation.** 

N/A N/A N/A 

Health warnings in labeling 

and advertising 
N/A 

Cigarette packages and 

advertising must bear 1 of 9 

specified health warnings, 

covering 50% of the front and 

rear panels of the package and at 

least 20% of the area in an 

advertisement. Color graphic 

image warnings are required by 

9/22/2012. 

Smokeless tobacco packages and 

advertising must bear 1 of 4 

specified health warnings, 

covering 30% each of the two 

principal display panels of the 

package and at least 20% of the 

area in an advertisement. 

N/A N/A N/A 
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

Disclosures by 

manufacturers 
N/A 

HHS Secretary will determine 

whether tobacco product 

manufacturers are required to 

include tar and nicotine yields on 

package labels or in cigarette 

advertisements, and may also 

require disclosure of other 

cigarette or tobacco product 

constituents. 

N/A 

Cigarette 

manufacturers*** must 

make corrective 

disclosures about 

addiction, adverse health 

effects, manipulation of 

cigarette design and 

composition to maximize 

addictiveness, and light 

and low tar cigarettes. 

N/A 

State & Local Authority           

Advertising restrictions N/A 

State and local governments may 

(within the bounds of the First 

Amendment) impose specific 

bans on the time, place, and 

manner of cigarette advertising 

and promotion, but may not 

regulate the content of 

advertising and promotions. 

State/local governments may also 

limit other tobacco product 

advertising and promotion. 

N/A N/A N/A 
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

More stringent regulations N/A 

State and local governments may 

enact more stringent regulations 

on the sale, distribution, 

possession, use, availability, 

advertising, promotion, or 

taxation of tobacco products. 

N/A N/A N/A 

Reporting 

States may require periodic 

progress reports from tobacco 

companies while outdoor and 

transit advertising is being 

eliminated. 

State and local governments may 

require reporting of information 

to the state or create fire safety 

regulations, but may not enact 

their own restrictions on tobacco 

product standards, premarket 

review, adulteration, 

misbranding, labeling, 

registration, good manufacturing 

standards, or modified-risk 

tobacco products. 

State tobacco tax 

reporting requirements 

apply to sale and 

advertisement of STPs, 

entities that ship or 

transfer cigarettes or 

STPs, and the shipment of 

cigarettes or smokeless 

tobacco into a local or 

tribal jurisdiction that 

taxes the sale or use of 

these products. 

N/A 

The State Fire Marshal may adopt rules 

to require reports by cigarette 

manufacturers, wholesale or retail 

dealers and transporters for the 

purpose of ensuring compliance with 

reduced ignition propensity standards. 
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

Applicability of state, local, 

and tribal laws 

The settling states did not 

waive or release any claims of 

criminal liability under federal, 

state, or local law; nor did they 

waive or release any claims on 

behalf of Indian tribes. 

No state or subdivision thereof 

may enact or enforce any 

requirement that differs from this 

Act if it pertains to tobacco 

product standards, 

premarket review, adulteration, 

misbranding, labeling, 

registration, 

good manufacturing standards, 

or modified risk tobacco 

products. However, states and 

subdivisions may set fire safety 

standards for tobacco products 

and regulate the sale, 

distribution, possession, 

information reporting to the 

State, exposure to, access to, the 

advertising and promotion of, or 

use of, tobacco products by 

individuals of any age. 

Delivery sellers must 

comply with all state, 

local, and tribal laws 

pertaining to the sale of 

cigarettes and STPs as if 

the sales occurred entirely 

within the jurisdiction of 

delivery. 

PACT does not inhibit the 

coordination of law 

enforcement by states or 

other jurisdictions with 

respect to interstate sales 

or seizures of tobacco 

products. 

N/A 

Localities are preempted from passing 

stronger laws regarding location of 

vending machines.  
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

Effect on state-tribal 

arrangements 
N/A 

Does not affect any action 

pending in Federal, State, or 

tribal court; any agreement, 

consent decree, or contract of 

any kind; limit or otherwise affect 

any State, tribal, or local taxation 

of tobacco products; or expand, 

contract, or otherwise modify or 

amend the existing limitations on 

State government authority over 

tribal restricted fee or trust lands. 

PACT does not affect 

agreements or limitations 

relating to the taxation of 

cigarettes or STPs sold in 

Indian country. 

N/A N/A 

Enforcement           

State enforcement  
State Attorneys General 

enforce the provisions. 

No authority unless delegated by 

FDA. 

Attorneys general of 

states, localities, and 

tribes may bring 

enforcement actions in 

U.S. district court. 

N/A Comprehensive 

Federal Enforcement 

National Association of 

Attorneys General (not federal 

government) 

HHS - FDA 

ATF may enter the 

business premises of 

delivery sellers to inspect 

records and inventory. 

Courts None 

            

IMPORTANT NOTE: Federal law does not displace or supersede state laws unless a federal law specifically preempts states from making laws on the same subject matter. Otherwise, the federal and 

state legal regimes exist separately and simultaneously, and are typically enforced by different entities. 
 

 

 

N/A = Not Addressed 

∞ The MSA and STMSA are only binding on signatories to the agreements ("participating manufacturers"). 
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Legal Provision 

MSA (1998)∞ 

& 

STMSA (1998)∞ 

Family Smoking Prevention and 

Tobacco Control Act (2009) 

Prevent All Cigarette 

Trafficking Act of 2009 

(PACT Act) 

United States v. Philip 

Morris USA, Inc.  

(RICO case) 

Oregon State Law 

* This is not a comprehensive list of federal or Oregonian tobacco laws. It is intended to be used as a tool for understanding the overlap of certain federal and state legal provisions concerning tobacco. 

** The ban on color and graphics in tobacco labels and advertising and the ban on claims implying that a tobacco product is safer because of FDA regulation and approval were struck down in 

Commonwealth Brands v. U.S.A. (West. Dist. Ky. Jan. 5, 2010). The district court found that these provisions violate the First Amendment by overly restricting tobacco companies' speech.  This case has 

not yet been appealed, but the district court's ruling is only binding in Kentucky. 

*** Eight cigarette manufacturers were parties to the RICO case: Philip Morris USA, R.J. Reynolds Tobacco Company, Brown & Williamson Tobacco Company, Lorillard Tobacco Company, The Liggett 

Group, Inc., American Tobacco Company, Philip Morris Companies (Altria), and British American Tobacco Company. 

°Exception: Brown & Williamson Co. may sponsor either the GPC country music festival or the Kool jazz festival (subject to limit of one per year). 

 


